Skip to main content

Dustin Cain, CST, FAST, Chair

AST Board of Directors

Welcome from the Chair

Thank you for your interest in the Foundation for Surgical Technology. We are a 501c3 nonprofit organization focused on serving surgical technologists in every area of the profession. By funding educational, professional and community programs we can enhance the field of surgical technology.

Over the past 21 years, the Foundation has given over $404,000 to fund more than 451 scholarships for surgical technologist students. We have awarded 32 medical mission scholarships and have provided awards to surgical technology educators as well as provided military scholarships.

The Foundation is run by volunteer committee members, recognized below, who are appointed by the presidents of our partner organizations, AST and the NBSTSA, and are currently serving on one of those boards. Because we also receive administrative support from these partners, we can use 100 percent of our donations toward scholarships!

We are grateful to our partners: AST, the NBSTSA, our corporate donors, AST State Assemblies, and individual surgical technologists who make these scholarships possible.

Thank you for your dedication and your generosity!

Foundation for Surgical Technology Committee

April Anderson, CST, CSFA, FAST

NBSTSA Board of Directors

Jessica Elliott, CST, RN, FAST

AST Board of Directors

Michelle Gay, CST, FAST

NBSTSA Board of Directors

Nicole Van Vonderen, CST, FAST

AST Board of Directors